Some educationalists argue that non-exam, art-based subjects, such as music, drama, art, and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, with a faster pace of studying, non- assessments lessons such as art-based subjects seem to lose their crucial role, especially in the secondary education system. However, several educationalists believe that students can boost their educational achievement to a higher level by attending these classes. From my perspective, I strongly agree with the opinion due to some specific circumstances. First and foremost, students will benefit greatly from these activities on many occasions. Unquestionably, when attending painting classes, they can nourish themselves with a sense of creativity for outside life. Obviously, getting access to this type of lesson will give them the opportunities to relax effectively after some consecutive stressing hours of studying science topics and build up teamwork skills. Because having spent most of their time completing a wide range of assignments, students may feel exhausted and when tackling art, music, or craft, they will experience themselves to an outside world and know how to become united in various challenging situations. Another reason these should be focused more on a school schedule is that students can find their passion in other academic fields. For example, in literature periods, while learning a literary work, a combination of art and music may change a student\u2019s thinking about a boring, sleepy lesson to a livelier one. Moreover, according to a survey in a Vietnamese newspaper, 80% of students prefer to have more access to the lessons related to plays and music shows since it is easier for students to remember a lesson and make them more interested in this specific subject. But on the other side, some people are worrying that students who acquire to those activities may lose their concentration to their main study and their ability to receive good grades. From where I stand, if we harmonize our time spent in the study and experiencing art and music, this problem will be solved successfully. In conclusion, the non-tested art-based subject is still playing an integral part in developing social skills for students and increasing their academic results.