Some people believe that children under age 10 should be given their own interest subject, while others believe that should be given regular subjects. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is generally believed by certain individuals that children should choose subjects what they are willing to learn until they become 10 years old. However, others argue that they should be provided standard subjects. This essay will outline why they support each side and suggest my opinion on the matter. One the one hand, some people assert that some children have natural-born talent in certain areas such as art, music, and sports. Since they have natural gifts, they are interested in these subjects at an early stage. Therefore, they should be supported to develop their qualities. Moreover, learning interesting subjects help children concentrate on them as they choose by themselves. As children ’s concentration span is shorter than adults, it is more difficult to focus on regular subject that are not interesting. For example, a survey conducted by the Korea Education Foundation has revealed that youngsters who study their own preferred majors could concentrate on them nearly 30 minutes longer than those who are provided regular subjects. As the example clearly illustrates, children should learn interesting subjects owing to their short concentration span. On the other hand, some argue that when people were young, they do not know what they want to study as well as their interest. Therefore, children should be provided various regular subjects until they find their qualities. In addition, learning regular subjects is an efficient means of success in this competitive society. Since children tend to be only interested in enjoyable subjects such as art and music, these subjects are not helpful for finding a job in the future. For instance, recent media in Korea reports that nearly 10% of children who have learned standard subjects before 10 years old have gotten better grades than others, and therefore they have had better job opportunities. Hence, learning standard subjects is beneficial than learning interesting subjects for children. In conclusion, while I accept that children can focus on interesting subjects for a long time, and some have natural talents, there is no doubt that learning regular subjects is beneficial for a long run. I strongly recommend that children should be given standard subjects, and they should choose interesting ones after they become adolescents.