Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

As technology dominates the world, more and more college students choose computer-related subjects as their majors instead of science. Some people start to worry about the impacts of this trend. In my opinion, as a science bachelor, I take a strongly negative view against the popularity of computer-based departments. First of all, science is the basis of every theory. Students in science school not only are trained in logical thinking, but also acquire the theory of fundamental methodology. Those capabilities can be applied to varied fields. Second, majoring in computer-based subjects is about how to utilize a tool, yet understanding science affects what you think. Science has an impact on people’s mindsets instead of skill sets. Although a computer-based degree can probably earn you more job opportunities at first, what if the computer knowledge you acquired in school isn’t scarce anymore after graduating, the skill set would become useless and can’t catch the trend Last but not least, no matter what technology it is, the root of the technology is science. Take one technological application computer as an example, a computer is a combination of math, physics and psychology. Three of them are the departments in a science school. For example, algorithms are the derivations of math, and the user-interface designs are based on psychology. In conclusion, in the short term, computer-related subjects can make a living. In the long term, the benefits of science outweigh computer-based subjects, because learning systematic thinking will not be out of date, as machinery advances. However, computers could fall into disuse in decades.