Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

t is true that nowadays an increasing number of oldsters are not under a care of their close people but live in the retired homes or in the special medical centres created for them. There are number of positive and negative sides of this change in the modern world. On the one hand, today the community notices several beneficial consequences of this shift. The first advantage of this is that the health of all people in these institutions are always monitored. In other words, as individual lives there and has a permanent access to professionally educated doctors and nurses, who could help him any time of the day. For instance, if person has a heart disease and feels bad he could be delivered to the operation room which is a couple minutes from his accommodation very fastly. The second beneficial side for society is that workers who have retired parents are working more efficiently and are able to afford themselves to relax after a tough day. For example, it is necessary to have a time for recover for those whose work requires a great deal of physical labour. On the other hand, the parents and the part of public whose parents are in these kind of places can face some kinds of mental problems. There is no doubt that people who used to live in a family move out to these institutions they usually feel themselves lonely. This feeling is very harmful for human's mental health and can bring a number of unwilling consequenses. For instance, the USA researches have recorded an occasion in a particular retirement home of that region when one of the residents very strongly missed his daughter and eventually faced dementia. In conclusion, while there are some plus points of having a free time after work and having a professional treatment if the relationship between child and parent will end after the retirement too much will be lost.