In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

As cities become more and more crowded, some industries and businesses are encouraged by governments to relocate to surrounding areas. While this measure might cause some problems, I believe it yields more benefits. On one hand, relocating industries could be burdensome for both governments and business owners. Firstly, it will be costly to build new factories and manufacturing lines. In order to encourage companies to do so, governments will have to provide incentives such as lower taxes, cheaper land, or other types of compensation, which can be a fiscal burden. Secondly, it might be inconvenient for some employees to commute between the suburbs and the city on a daily basis. Longer commute hours are often associated with decreasing satisfaction with work. For some companies, being distant from the city where their clients, stakeholders or customers are often located can also affect business exchanges and relationships. On the other hand, this measure will yield multiple benefits. The main context of this policy proposal is that many cities have been plagued by the growth and expansion of some industries that have caused a list of problems such as environmental pollution, diminishing living space per capita, traffic congestion, etc. The most evident advantage is that urban area will be more livable with fewer factories, especially those that produce air or water pollution. Balancing economic growth and limited resources has always been difficult. Therefore, to accommodate economic growth, I believe the better option is to expand development in regional areas. This will not only stimulate growth in surrounding counties and villages but also lower the cost of doing business for companies. In summary, moving industries and businesses away from cities may have some drawbacks. But the benefits to cities, regional areas and companies far outweigh the disadvantages.