In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It appears to be increasingly common for companies to heavily focus on the concept that their products are new in a certain way. Although this tendency may be linked to their strategical goals of increasing the market sales and promoting their brand looks, it seems largely disadvantageous for both the consumers and the brand makers due to number of reasons. Advertising is a powerful tool for companies to effectively promote their new brands and products. However, in recent times, most producers relay a fabricated messages through the mass media that their products are somewhat new as compared to the other similar products on the market to boost their sales rate, even if their products are not always so innovative as their advertise. As most people are inclined to be attracted towards the latest products on the market, it seems effective for the brand makers to choose this approach. For example, many people actually buy or at least seriously consider purchasing the latest cellphone model, which the newer models are released almost every year, as they are attracted to the additional features despite the expensive prices. However, this widespread trend of advertising can put the user at a largely disadvantageous position due to the growing pressure of false information that leads them to purchase unnecessary or unwanted products. For instance, it is possible for many people to be persuaded by the glamorous yet misguided advertising and possibly spend a substantial amount on the products only to find out that the product could not meet their expectations. Unfortunately, it can ultimately lead to disbelief and dissatisfaction among the consumers, which can also negatively impact the future sales numbers of the company. Moreover, it is also evident that this misconception can further undermine the sales of other products with similar marketing promotions, as more and more people become indifferent towards the advertising. In conclusion, although many companies try to emphasize that their products are somewhat new a the certain extent in their advertising, it does not seem beneficial for both parties. Instead, it seems sensible to focus on the qualities of their products.