In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, Industries and businesses are being encouraged to relocate to the countryside. Despite its demerits, waste of time and energy, it could be an advantageous trend. Working at companies headquartered out of urban centers, employees will need to spend a great deal of time commuting to work daily which might leave them only little time left to spend on important activities. These people are likely to face challenges with different parts of life. If they are parents, for instance, they might lose the chance to get home on time to help their kids with their homework. Furthermore, their long journey to work can force them to reduce their sleep hours leading to their mental and physical exhaustion and eventually a decrease in their efficiency. If they do not get a good night sleep or enough rest, their concentration level is going to fall. On the other hand, the first benefit of this decision might be that traffic congestion will be reduced significantly. When a majority of businesses are out of the city, fewer commuters will move around the city alleviating traffic-related problems. The second advantage is that the air quality is highly likely to improve as the number of vehicles and factories producing exhaust fumes in large cities will plunge. Finally, shortage of accommodation in some metropolitan cities might be mitigated as once the enterprises have been relocated, enormous pieces of land will become vacant and available for construction, improving residential facilities. My uncle's neighborhood used to be owned by a well-known Iranian company, which is now based in the industrial town to the south of my hometown. In conclusion, should factories, companies and businesses move to the outskirts, they can offer a range of merits to urban centers, namely reducing air pollution and traffic as well as housing shortage taking precedence over its drawbacks.