In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The world has become an entirely different entity, with the addition of Information Technology(IT) it's a day to day living. A schism exists regarding whether the adverse effects of the technology might surpass the merits. This essay elaborates on both impacts, siding with the opinion that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, the negative impact of IT has to be explored. The most devastating of these are mentioned as cybercrimes. Numerous outlaws have shifted their domain to the World Wide Web, leading to phishing, drug trafficking, etc. These heinous acts affect adversely underaged, and ignorant people from low-income countries. For example, it has been reported that more than 50% of people from developing countries have been victims of phishing scams at any part of their life. Nevertheless, the meritorious aspects outweigh the above-mentioned negative impacts. IT has provided a gateway for the underprivileged to be educated, improve their talents, and market their skills to the whole world from their own bedroom. For an instance, today students from the lowest echelon in India receive their lessons from Harvard, as of online learning programs like Edex. Further, social media platforms such as Tik Tok and youtube have provided a platform for budding artists to entertain the public. Moreover, IT has solved the problems like cybercrimes, Antivirus programs, child protection software and etc. Hence, the positive repercussions of IT persist throughout the wheel of time, above its negative impacts.