Today, some food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only eat locally produced food. To what extent do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

it is quite common that various foods can be bought in the markets even foreign foods. Some people are worried that such a trend would have a negative influence on our local financial system and environment, therefore, customers should buy indigenous foods. However, I tend to partly support this opinion. On the one hand, owing to unnecessary long-distance transport, local companies can reduce their investment and their products would have lower prices than imported or far-away products. Besides, due to fewer requirements for vehicle transport, the consumption of petrol would descend which means air pollution can be controlled. On the other hand, vegetables and fruits enable to increase the local farmers’ income and can keep fresher than foreign food. Thus, combining the above statements, it is undeniable that it has a positive influence on the environment and economy. However, there is no doubt that it will stimulate the development of monopolies in local if any foreign food is not allowed to sell in the market. In addition, the purchasing price of food will be fixed optionally by these companies, which is deeply harmful to local citizens. Thus, bringing outside food can promote well competition in the local market. Moreover, with no threat from outside, a huge number of fertilizers and pesticides would be used in farming, which means amounts of harmful chemicals would be absorbed in the soil. Hence, such a way would cause more serious consequences than before in some areas. Last but not least, as wealth increases, it is normal that individuals to want to have a high-quality lifestyle, so their rights should not be limited. In conclusion, taking the local environment and economy into account, appropriate outside food should be imported. Meanwhile, it can improve local dwellers’ satisfaction with the government.