Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

Nowadays, Smoking cigarettes has been forbidden in public places, like restaurants and offices, in some countries. In contrary, other countries prefer not imposing laws against using tobacco in public buildings. Both sides of the arguments will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, those who support the smoking ban laws point to the disadvantages of being second hand – smoke such as; asthma attacks, respiratory infections and sudden infant’s death. They claim that the effect of smoke would cause more health problems on children and infants rather adults. Therefore, respecting to the smoking bans laws could significantly reduce the smoking related disease. Moreover, the proponents of imposing laws on banned smoking mention that smokers might lose other people’s right by smoking the tobacco in public place because most people could not tolerate the hassle of breathing in a place full of smoke. On the other hand, regardless of all drawbacks have been highlighted above, the opponents of smoking bans refer to some problems which might cause for some business. As an example; when smoking is illegal in public places like clubs or restaurants, they would seek for another place to smoke. As a result, customer’s rates would be decreased considerably. Furthermore, the critics of smoking bans discuss the matter from other aspects. They believe that if people enforced to ban smoking in public places, they would be taken away their freedom and they would gradually prefer not to take part in events that held in public places. So it seems that it would cause frustration among them. Overall, I would tend to side with proponents of smoking bans. It seems to be reasonable to curtail the smoking tobacco in public places to respect individual’s right for considering healthier lifestyle. Although it might reduce the freedom of some people, it would be more logical to consider the community benefits.