Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the increasing fees and lack of job opportunities, some people are being driven by the belief that colleges should exclude art subjects in their curriculum and include only those that enable students to make an easy entry into their careers. This essay partially agrees that the STEM courses help a major set of graduates but it also highlights the importance of studying arts for those who are passionate about pursuing art as a career. To begin with, youngsters graduating from universities with the completion of their courses related to STEM are more likely to have immediate placements in different companies. For example, it is statistically proven that most of the unemployed category of youth are from the non-technology group. As there are many companies booming in the market related to the application of science and technology, it is widely believed that college graduates should be taught only those that can enable them in securing a job. On the other hand, removing the themes like history and philosophy completely from the curriculum is dangerous for two reasons. Firstly, students who are passionate to learn art and continue to make it their career option are on the disadvantageous side if they are forced to uptake the subjects that are not of their interest. Secondly, learning these really helps the country in producing good historians and philosophers who serve the country in building cultural identity. For example, many artists motivate people in general by the way of teaching different philosophies of life. In conclusion, there is a significant number of graduates who can be benefited from learning the practical subjects as they provide easy means of entering the job. In spite of this advantage, the essay still sees the importance of keeping the art courses that can be pursued by youth who are extremely passionate about making art their career.