A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is to be noted that there is a change in the way a person is valued in the society today, when compared to the past. It now appears to be based on the socio-economic possessions rather than values such as honor, trust and kindness. I too think this is much similar in most societies. The primary reason why I believe that this is visible across the globe is because of the increasing affinity of humans towards materialism, leaving behind traditional values, ethics and morals. Today, every human being wants to assimilate as much as money he can. This is because of the assumption that money can bring almost everything in the modern world. They assume money can not only buy tangible products and services, but also elements like social dignity. The second reason why I support the aforementioned view is that of the general belief that life would be miserable for those who have noble qualities such as kindness, honour and trust. There is some truth in this because in this fast-moving world, not many appreciate these qualities, as they are busy at their run for money. It can be also seen that today’s educational system turns a blind eye towards these values. I admit that some governments recognize the deeds of those who are kind and trustworthy by facilitating them in public. Even this attempt is not appreciated by the modern society as they try concentrating their attention to the life of famous celebrities and business tycoons, and try to adopt their values. To conclude, despite some efforts to recognize the invaluable qualities like honor, kindness and trust, the ultra-modern world generally focus on factors like glamour and material possessions.