Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution? And what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Recently, more and more concerns about water pollution have been heated, environmental departments are worried that the pollution of rivers, lakes and seas can result in problems for both animal life and human society. As far as I am concerned, water sources and food resources can be affected by the serious pollution caused by factories and tourism. Firstly, factories stand a high percentage of damaging the water. As the fee of treating factories wastes, chemical wastes and heavy metals in general, is usually high, some factories may leave those substances in the water as a way to due with it. For example, Japan has injected lots of radioactive resources into the sea which results in huge damage. Secondly, tourism will aggregate the pollution, for example, visitors may leave plastic bags or rubbishes on the beach, and those items may cause disaster once they flow into the ocean. As a result, both animals and humans are affected by environmental problems. As the water sources are polluted by the toxic compound, animals who drink the water may get sick. Eventually, some animals may lose prey and the food chain can be affected negatively. On the other hand, water which has been polluted can resist agriculture. For example, food can be poisoned by watering the polluted solutions, it can be dangerous for humans to mark the poisoned crop as food. In conclusion, water pollution can be easily created by throwing wastes into rivers, lakes or seas whereas the damage to water can result in food shortages for both animals and humans.