Many companies and organisations require their employees to wear uniforms. What kind of jobs require uniforms? What are the disadvantages of wearing a uniform to work?

There are several firms and organizations where wearing uniforms is mandatory. They consider it the best way to maintain equality and teamwork among employees. Professions like doctors, soldiers, police, and pilots require uniforms as it helps to distinguish them from the crowd. Even though it is required in many job roles, it has some downsides too which I will discuss in this essay. The foremost demerit of following dress codes at work creates groups among peers. Many organizations provide uniforms according to the degree and level of the job role. For instance, In factories workers wear different sets of clothes than their superiors. Due to this they can feel differentiated and lower their esteem which can further lead to grouping culture. Additionally, people cannot reflect on their personal identities. To exemplify, clothes depict your culture, style and overall personality which gets hidden when you wear a uniform. Thus, wearing uniforms not only creates differentiation among employees but also leads to the loss of an individual's personality. Another disadvantage of wearing uniforms on a daily basis is the high maintenance costs. The work attire needs to be in perfect condition all the time,especially for the job profiles who face clients. For example, the major requirement of a cabin crew role is to remain in a perfect presentable manner due to which they face high maintenance costs on an everyday basis as their attire depicts the overall image of airlines. Moreover, people lose the freedom to choose the clothes which they want to wear and which make them comfortable. Hence, uniforms not only increase the maintenance charges but not allowed to wear a personal choice of dress at work. To summarise, wearing uniforms is important in certain roles but has several cons too.