Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Universities are an essential part of our current world. However, the way they should apply knowledge to students is a controversial topic. While some believe it’s the place students should acquire the necessary skills needed for a job, others argue that the function is to give access and nothing further. I side with the former group. The main reason schools are put in place is to prepare humans for their futures. Having said that, almost every adult needs to work to live. There might be a lucky few that have other sources of income, but the general public has to depend on the knowledge and skill they obtain. So, if these institutions do not properly equip their pupils, they leave them unable to compete and stand on their own two feet. Another reason why I believe it is the responsibility of higher educational institutions to properly guide their students is that if they do not teach them then who will. They will likely get a job but not know how to properly conduct their duties. For instance, if a person falls ill and is rushed to the hospital but the doctors and nurses aren’t skilled enough to treat said patient, he/she will eventually die. This example touches only one field, the scale of lacking professionals could be catastrophic. In conclusion, I believe schools are put in place in order to produce capable scholars. If they are lacking in this department they have no use and will do more harm than good.