Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Many people, and juveniles in particular, enjoy playing video games. Although I admit that video games can sometimes bring a positive effect, I firmly believe that they are more likely to cause a harmful impact. On the one hand, video games can be both entertaining and educational. Students can play video games during their leisure time and transport into virtual world which often provides players more exciting and engaging experience. From the educational perspective, these games encourage imagination and creativity, as well as time management, concentration, and problem solving, all of which are important and useful skills that can be used in the real world. Furthermore, some insulation games can help improve and prepare people's motor skills such as flying a plane. However, I think the drawbacks still outweigh the benefits. Gaming can be highly addictive because users are constantly given scores, new targets, and frequent rewards to keep them playing. Many adolescents now spend hours each day to get higher score and surpass their friends. Therefore, students might suffer poor academic performances at school. In addition, since they spend more time on video games and spend less with friends, some people may be afraid of having conversations with others and become isolated at the real world. Some may even suffer mental health problems due to the blood scene in video games. The rise in health problems such as obesity, diabetes, and high blood pressure have partly contributed by lack of exercise that often accompany gaming addiction. To sum up, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games are more significant than the possible merits.