As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factor contributes to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In the contemporary epoch, a vast number of individuals spend the majority of their productive life at work. Linked to this, occupation contentment is undoubtedly crucial. Therefore, this essay is going to discuss the possible factors which may have an effect on satisfaction at work and then whether employees’ wishes are feasible. It cannot be denied, that numerous factors may promote job contentment. To elaborate this further, for instance, younger staff are more satisfied at work, if it is appropriately compensated. Recent research from The University of Cambridge states that the most crucial thing for almost 80% of employees under 35 years is a salary. In connection with this, the paper also claims that salary satisfaction is subsequently linked with achieving better results. On the other hand, older personnel rely more on free time as a source of work gratification, than on financial evaluation. They claim they would like to spend more time with their families, instead of being closed at work. Moreover, they share the opinion that the younger generation of workers is a better source of ideas in comparison with them. Presumably the best possible attempt how to describe the reality of job satisfaction expectations of workers is that at least 50% of them are unrealistic. There is a huge difference between the pleasure of employers and employees and a significant shift in this ideology is unlikely to happen soon, as the employers are the ones who lead. A vast number of individuals do their occupation just on account of money necessity. To conclude, from the aforementioned examples, occupation gratification may be the source of well-being and better work outcomes, however, is not achievable for everyone.