Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, music is considered one of the most popular means of entertainment around the world. This leads to the claim that music plays an essential part in connecting people of different backgrounds and generations. In my opinion, I strongly agree that music is a great way of bonding people of dissimilar cultures and ages. One reason is that music is a global language that is comprehensible to individuals. It means that people of disparate cultures are not necessary to comprehend the lyrics to feel the melancholy or the delight from the melody of a song. For example, numerous Vietnamese people are fascinated by Korean pop songs with catchy tunes and upbeat tempo even though they cannot understand a single word of the lyrics. Undoubtedly, music is a perfect tool to remove language barrier amongst dissimilar cultures. Another reason is that music can eliminate generational distinction. Undeniably, in the contemporary society, it is extremely common to spot youngsters listen to songs from the past and the elderly listen to modern genres, namely pop music or electronic dance music. For instance, on social media platforms, it is frequent to encounter teenagers do cover versions of songs of well-known bands from the 70s, such as ABBA or Queen. Admittedly, music can bridge the generation gap and connect people of different age groups. Some people could argue that there is hatred towards music of other cultures due to racial discrimination; however, this argument is dubious. Nowadays, it is not difficult to hear songs from famous celebrities of color played on radio or famous television programs. Evidence for this can be seen in Kanye West – the most groundbreaking African American artist whose songs are widely streamed in numerous countries, including Asian regions. In conclusion, I believe that music is a great ways of uniting disparate cultures and age brackets. This form of entertainment enhances the connection amongst people despite the difference in cultural backgrounds and generations. Hopefully, music would continue to thrive in the future and could resolve conflicts for dissimilar groups of people.