Today, more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for people who visit such places?

Nowadays, the very daunting society we live in has the undeniable proclivity to make tourism an indispensable component of one ’s life. Indeed, people now look for more striking and unusual journeys during which they can fulfill their appetite for discovery. Thus, it begs the question: What are the pros and cons of this kind of trend? This essay will answer this question by first depicting advantages and will follow directly with drawbacks. To begin with, one can really reap the benefits of such a way of practicing tourism. Firstly, while a large part of the world travels to very crowded places, others might be more inclined to find isolated areas, in order to be disconnected from society. Moreover, it could also be a driver of challenge for one who lives a monotonous life by not only bringing one outside their comfort zone, but also requiring a lot of motivation. For instance, a famous adventurer named Mike Horn does a lot of conferences during which he shares all his famous adventures in the very blank and desert areas of our world and promotes their benefits. However, some adverse effects can emanate from such a trend. Whereas a lot of experts may attempt to undertake such challenges, some other inexperienced novice might be tempted to dive into one of them without any preparation. Furthermore, encouraging people to practice tourism in this manner might result in myriad repercussions that biodiversity and blank environments would bear the brunt of. For instance, in the Swiss Alps and for decades now, more and more people from all around the world decide daily to undertake journeys in the most dangerous and desertic places. Nonetheless, studies have recently demonstrated that some very endemic species are now found to disappear due to the pressure of tourism. In a nutshell, although tourism in unique and dangerous areas might be appealing, some harsh consequences could result from it. If humanity continues to promote selfish and egocentric practices, it could rapidly result in dramatic/dire impacts on humans as well as the environment.