Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has made a big impact on our lifestyles, the way we think and the way we react to different things. Even in remote areas, people have now easy access to social media due to faster internet services and cheaper smartphones. There are many pros and cons of social media usage. Firstly, we will discuss the cons. These days we are seeing many online scams. Identity theft has now become easier because all of your personal details are now available easily online. People are being catfished and honey-trapped easily. Moreover, we have witnessed in past a major scandal in the famous social media company 'Facebook'. The Facebook owner was found guilty of selling all of its website user's personal information without their consent to different companies. In addition to this, the easy availability of adult content on social media is very alarming. It is corrupting our younger generation's minds. Conversely, it has many advantages also. The major advantage is that it has destroyed the monopoly of print and broadcast media on the information. Now, you don't have to rely on these traditional media for information. You can search for anything on Google and Youtube. In the older days, every household used to keep a recipe book. Youtube has changed it. You can find any type of recipe now on Youtube, whether it be Indian or Italian. In conclusion, I will say that the benefits of social media outweigh the disadvantages as it has empowered the common man by providing him access to every information available to mankind. Social media has pulled people out of their ignorance and has made them more woke.