Climate change is a big environmental problem that has become critical in last couple of decades. Some people claim that humans should stop burning fossil fuels and use only alternative energy resources, such as wind and solar power. Others say that oil, gas and coal are essential for many industries, and not using them will lead to economic collapse.

One of the most crucial issues that humans currently face is climate change. While some people believe that we should replace carbon-based energy sources with alternative sources, like wind and solar power, others believe that our economy depends on oil, gas and coal as sources of energy. I totally agree with the former view, and in this essay I will present my reasons. It is a fact that human life on earth is threatened by climate change. This is because it will lead to environmental disasters if we do not start taking measures against it as soon as possible. One of these disasters is the imminent drought that is bound to happen, due to the melting of ice caps and increased sea levels. This, as a consequence, would affect agriculture and our safety. So it is safe to say that our existence is more vital than our economic welfare. Moreover, there are no grounds to support the argument that our economy is dependent on carbon-based energy sources. Since we found other eco-friendly alternatives, I do not see a reason to continue using the harmful ones. One of the promising renewable energy sources, for instance, is nuclear power, which is a reliable source of energy that will minimize the carbon footprint. This, as a result, would not only rescue our economy but would also save our species from extinction. To sum up, although some people argue that our economy depends on burning fossil fuels for energy, I personally believe that this is not necessary, because there are better alternatives like nuclear, solar and wind power. Furthermore, our existence is more important than economic prosperity.