Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problem. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that meal containing added sugar ought to be exorbitant to inspire citizens to reduce their intake. In my opinion, I agree that food being high-priced to minimize the devouring is beneficial. Firstly, increasing the price of sweetened products is justifiable as it causes several health issues. This is because the foodstuff contain a large number of calories with no nutrients. Also, people do not have the feeling of fullness compared to when a healthy diet is consumed. Consequently, they crave more sweet things and other food products increasing their daily ingestion of meals which may result in obesity. To illustrate, in Nigeria, the most readily available sweetened drinks such as Fanta contain 11tablespoons of sugar, which exceeded the recommended daily reauirement of added sugar in the diet. When an individual takes sweet drinks in addition with other regular diets, it increases the risk of obesity. For this reason, sweet things lower the quality of life of a person and affect the society's economy in the long run. Secondly, it provokes the desire to be informed about the content of the food substance. In other words, the expensive prices of the items would make the populace ponder about thd things they are about to purchase. It is in human nature to wish to have in-depth knowledge of what they are procuring with their hard earned money. Moreover, human tend to weigh the benefit and the risk of the commodity and sometimes, seek products that are cheaper and healthier. Thus, assisting them to make the right choice in selection. Admittedly, it is true that people have the freedom of choice and should not be coerced to change their habits. As some people ingest those products when on a treat or after a hectic day to refresh themselves. However, there is a need to restrict the ingestion because it has a detrimental effect on health. In conclusion, limitation on sweetened items is a necessity for any individual that values improved well-being and has the readiness to change unhealthy practices.