Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students should be encouraged to question and offer criticism of their teachers. Others think this will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The world today is extremely competitive when it comes to education, children and parents today are more aware than ever. Many people believe that quality of education can be enhanced if high school pupils are motivated to question and provide negative feedback to their teachers when needed while the other group argues that this will impact the respectful relationship between students and the teacher along with causing the disciplinary problems in the class. This essay will talk about the opinions of both sides considering the advantages and disadvantages of the statement and then provide the author’s take on this. To begin with, getting constructive feedback from the student can help teachers understand what they could improve to raise the level of studies. If one teaching method works for 75% of the students, it doesn’t guarantee that it would provide similar benefits to the rest of 25% too. For example, a mathematical problem can be solved in many different ways, but that doesn’t make one process correct and the other one incorrect. Similarly, if students are able to share what they think could benefit them, then the teachers will be able to make amends in their current teaching methodologies accordingly. Despite the above benefits, it will give students a sense of power over their teachers which some might use in the wrong way, which can cause problems like disrespect and indiscipline. In fact, at a young,age people are more drawn toward the wrong path when given powers like this. Although feedback is necessary, it shouldn’t be allowed in the classroom in presence of all the other students. For instance, if a student feels that the current teaching methods are not helping him/her they should be allowed to speak to the teacher personally after the class. Apart from that, the school committee should review and discuss the educational methods regularly in order to provide the best quality education. To summarize, the school council should be the one to review and update the ongoing educational ways. Students should be allowed to share their problems, personally with the teachers as long as it doesn’t involve any disrespect and indiscipline.