Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Plastic has turned out to be one of the most detrimental inventions for the humans and the environment. Humans consume all sorts of plastic packaging on a daily basis and thereby generate tons of waste which is indeed not easy to process however, it is very easy and cheap to produce. Since the advent of plastic a huge amount of damage has been caused to the environment and which has led to a spike in the carbon emissions. To begin with, most plastic that is produced or used on a daily basis is non-biodegradable. Which makes it harder for the soil to absorb the wasted plastic. It was observed in a recent study, that it may up to a million years for a small plastic water bottle to be fully broken down and absorbed by the soil, let alone the tons of plastic waste that we produce daily. Scientists have also observed an increase in amount of carbon emissions generated from the production of plastic and have directly linked it with the supply and demand of plastics. As humans have increasingly become dependent on plastics, the overall production has gone up, which eventually is causing the spike in emissions. Additionally, plastics have also caused a huge amount of damage to our biodiversity. Since most of the plastic waste is dumped in the oceans by various industries, many animal species have become a victim of this. There have been cases where many species of water animals chocked to death after they consumed the plastic that was dumped in the ocean. This indeed has turned to be disastrous for the ocean life. In order to reduce the impact of plastic on the environment, the government should begin taxing it. This can hinder the use of plastics up to a certain extent, however it would not be a complete solution. As, individuals it is our responsibility that we understand the damage plastic causes to the environment and therefore we should restrict ourselves from buying plastic products as much as possible. Another way of dealing with this is by recycling plastic products. Recycling not only saves money but also prevents us from consuming more plastic products. In the long run, the more we recycle our plastic, the lesser would be the production. Which eventually would restrict industries from producing plastics in bulk and would turn out to be a great solution to the damage that plastics cause.