Countries should restrict foreign companies from opening offices and factories in order to protect local businesses. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

It is argued that to protect local businesses there should be some restrictions with the goal to avoid that foreign companies can open offices and factories. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon and it will explain why I disagree with this opinion. It is true that in this globalization era, the richest and biggest firms are obstacolating the trade of the local businesses. To exemplify, in my hometown tourists prefer to purchase items from famous shops rather than from local shops. This happens because big firms pay more attention to advertising better their products and, as a consequence, people choose to buy famous items. However, despite the higher number of items sold, it does not mean that also the quality is higher. Actually, local businesses ' products have a higher quality due to the narrow production. Consequently, I believe that it could be not fear to enforce restrictions on foreign companies but it could be better to improve the advertisement of local's products trying to improve the local trade. Actually, many times local businesses are not known by tourists and this is the reason why they, in the end, they do shopping through the big firms. To sum up, I disagree with the opinion that regards the introduction of some restrictions in order to protect local business. Instead, I am convinced that the best way to improve local trade is to promote better local products.