In the past, most people worked for small businesses, while more people now work for large businesses. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working for large businesses?

In years before, people engaged in paid labour for small scale enterprises, as opposed to thesedays where individuals work for large scale ventures. While there are Benefits to this current practice, there are also demerits which this essay will elaborate more on. To begin with, being employed in a large business venture brings about exposure of employees to a wide range of learning avenues, where these employees are allowed to grow on the job while earning a living. For example, my late Mother got employment in a banking firm, several years ago with little or no practical knowledge about finances. She was encouraged to undergo several workshops and trainings, which helped her improve her output drastically over a short period of time. In addition, working for big businesses helps individuals to build good interpersonal relationships, as they are required to work with people from different cultural and economic backgrounds resulting in a balanced human relationship. However, there are also demerits to working in a large scale enterprise such as the unhealthy rivalry that accompanies such work environment. For instance, most employers tends to motivate their employees through the rewards and punishment system, where workers are either given monetary compensations, promoted to a higher position or terminated from work. Due to the immense pressure that this situation accompanies, workers are compelled to compete for basic amenities which could have been made available to them if they were to work in small scale ventures, resulting in employee burnout. Furthermore, employees who work with large businesses are exposed to being answerable to several superiors at a time which places undue pressure on the workers at their jobs. In conclusion, the merits of working in large businesses includes opportunity to grow and also improve human relations while the disadvantages to this practice is an unhealthy competition that working in such work environment brings.