Traffic congestion in major cities is an increasing problem, yet there is an environmental impact to be considered when building new roads. What can be done about this problem?

Traffic congestion becomes a bigger problem in major cities. Most cities grow very fast while the infrastructure stays the same. But that is not the only thing we should be concerned about it. Nowadays, we also have to consider the higher air pollution congestion caused. One way to prevent traffic jams, would be to build better and bigger roads. But most of the time there is not enough space for that in huge cities. Most of the roads are already surrounded by buildings, and it takes a long time for construction. Also, working on a road will cause even more congestion while ongoing construction. Another option to reduce congestion would be public transportation. Better infrastructure can also decrease congestion. When more and more people would take a train, the subway or a Bus to get to work, the traffic would be less heavy, also a carpool lane can help. It might motivate people to travel together instead of everybody driving by himself. In conclusion, there are some options to reduce the traffic on the road. But every option has its advantages and disadvantages. Building a bigger road might be a long-term solution but it is not always possible. Building a subway or a train station is really expensive but also a long-term solution.