Nowadays a growing number of boys and girls within normal weight ranges have an intense fear of gaining weight and therefore get anorexia. Why do you think a lot of teenagers have a strong desire to be skinny? What can be done to prevent this eating disorder?

In recent years, an increasing amount of the desire to become skinny among the youth has been causing plenty of eating illnesses, such as anorexia. This essay will examine the main causes of the wish of being skinny and the possible solutions of this problem. The two major reasons for the burning desire to be skinny are the influence of the media and low self-esteem. Firstly, teenagers are affected by the media, due to the fact that the celebrities are skin and bones being on show and are labelled as the successful people, boys and girls imitate their idols by losing weight. Also, different types of advertisements are glutted with the message of skinny and the youth are persuaded to lose weight unreasonably. Secondly, harsh judgments and body shaming by toxic people lead to the low self-esteem of the youngsters. Therefore, the youth mistakenly think that being skinny can build up their confidence. Two possible solutions to tackle this problem are supervising the doddering types of media broadcasts and educating the youth. By supervising the various kinds of broadcasts, the government, like the Broadcasting Authority, needs to monitor all sorts of advertisements by the media, making sure that they do not promote wrong messages, for instance, skinny equals beauty and success. Furthermore, tracing the optimistic attitudes of the teenagers in schools and their family is also important. The self-esteem of the youth is not only depending on the opinions of the others but also on evaluating themselves, for example, how they feel happy and comfortable being different body types besides skinny. To recapitulate, the impact of the media and the toxic people, causes teenagers to have a strong desire to be skinny. However, this problem can be solved by the government’s supervision and education of the different parties.