Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children, whereas others say that it has positive effects on the way children develop. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

There have been debates about whether playing computer games is beneficial for children. Some people, especially parents, are particularly against that; whereas some others from the public say sitting before a computer can be advantageous and should not be demonized. To a lot of people, their first impression of playing computer games is that, it necessarily reduces the time children spend on their studies. More often than not, children and adolescents do not have strong self-discipline and tend to indulge in games. Consequently, their time and effort spent in studies would be to a certain extent deprived of, and their academic results would be compromised, and they may not build a foundation strong enough for their future careers. Some of them even develop a sedentary lifestyle which is not good for their health. On the other hand, advocates of computer games contend that, participating in computer games can develop gamers' hand-eye coordination, logical thinking, and problem-solving skills. Very often, gamers are presented with a difficult situation, and they need to analyze the enemy's weak points, evaluate different options on hand and come up with a consolidated plan to proceed to the next stage. In conclusion, it is believed that playing computer games may turn children into indulgent gamers and away from homework and studies. Nevertheless, it may also help to develop children's problem-solving skills. As far as I am concerned, the hazards of indulging in games are much bigger than their potential benefits. Hence, limiting children's playing time on computer games is commendable in order to secure a better balance.