The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there is a tremendous increase in population in large metropolitan areas due to people moving for job opportunities or easy access to urban amenities. Because of the reasons, young generations who are about to start a family will find it difficult for housing need. I agree that governing bodies are solely responsible for this matter and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, the shortage of housing have severe effect on real-estate industries. The housing price will be competitive as there is huge demand. Home buyers most likely to pay twice as much of the price for a run-down household just to secure from competitors. Authorities should step in with professional real-estate evaluators so that there would not be unnecessary hike in housing prices. Secondly, working class families would move away from big cities and stay in regional suburbs for affordable living. As a result, their daily commute to big cites for work would create traffic congestion on highway unnecessarily. Government should encourage people to take public transportation and make them more reliable and efficient. Thirdly, if there is difficult to housing, council rentals should also be another alternatives. In addition, regulating authorities. One thing they could do is to build sky scrapers where more people are able to obtain common household such as apartments or studios according to their need. In conclusion, solving housing crisis in major cities is not a walk in the park and there are few things government should do such as deploying professional evaluators, improved public transport and building skyscrapers. I believe, we should do it together now to avoid severe consequences. Personally, I would like to suggest government should educate young families and retire to have better understanding of efficient housing.