In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed by people in various countries, that huge poportion portion of money should be spent for constructing new railway lines, interconnecting cities through means of fast trains. However, another opinion is that, same amount should be spent on public transportation. I strongly believe that public transports should be upgraded as it is the most common way of transportation among people. To begin with, there are various means of public transportation like buses, taxis, autorickshaws. All these means of transportation are mainly used by economically weaker section, as they are budget friendly to them. The frequency of buses operating from past many years has gown down. Money should be spent on providing public with modernized sitting arrangements in buses having air conditioning. Additionally, the government should also increase the number of buses connecting various places of the city. Talking about the railway system, which connects cities, are one of the fastest means of transportation. However, with this advantage their comes a drawback that they are costlier than public transportation and hence not affordable by economically backward classes. Also, setting up more number of trains despite of less users is not advisable to spend money on. To sum up, keeping in mind the requirements and needs of the public, emphasis should be done on the development of public transportation rather than building new railway tracks for faster running trains.