An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

In recent years, the development of industrial plants has more or less affected the environment negatively. This essay will discuss potential reasons and suggest viable solutions to solve this issue. A dramatic increase in the human population leading to a higher demand for consumer goods is the main cause of environmental destruction. In order to serve this rising demand, companies continually clear land, cut down trees, and build more factories to manufacture more goods. This whole construction does not only result in deforestation but also release tons of carbon dioxide emission into the air, leading to climate change and catastrophic natural disasters. Moreover, during industrial processes, factories dispose of toxic wastes and contaminate nearby community water sources, such as rivers, lakes, or streams. This destroys biodiversity and depletes the aquatic ecosystem as contaminated water cause illness and death to fish and other animals. Although the above-mentioned problems could not be avoided during human development, governments could take steps to mitigate the negative consequences to the Earth. Regulations and rankings are needed to assess the level of emission of each factory, and governments can take sanctions on companies that affect the environment. This may help encourage businesses to apply advanced technologies to reduce their impact on the planet and use cleaner energy, such as solar, water or wind. For example, if automobiles in Europe countries want to operate on roads, they need to meet fully the requirements and regulations on emissions for vehicles. In conclusion, it is possible to mitigate the negative impact of humans on the natural environment if governments and companies seriously follow the environment protection regulations.