Students in a school should learn academic subjects and pass exams. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and woodwork can be learned from family and friends. Do you agree or disagree?

An increasing concern for many people around the world is academic grades. It is often said that non-academic subjects such as cookery, dressmaking, woodwork, and so on are not so important, however, others feel that these skills bear significance in shaping a student's career. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why people believe that homemaking skills are unnecessary to incorporate an informal school syllabus. Perhaps, the main reason why people think that informal education is irrelevant is because of the fear of high tuition fees. As a result, apprentices have to bear the burden of increased tuition. In addition, it will lengthen the regular school hours. As a consequence, students will get less time in their home for preparation of formal courses, say, physics, chemistry, mathematics, etc. If this happened, academicians may be getting poor results in their crucial exams. Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that non-academic skills are vital. Firstly, this makes one’s rounded as a person. The person who knows cooking, for instance, just reduces his food cost while abroad in contrast to those who do not know it and mostly consume restaurant food. Secondly, technical know-how in cooking, dressing-sense, and wood crafts also add value to one’s CV. If someone got expertise in these areas, he/she will earn attention from the employers’ perspective. In conclusion, technical knowledge is a topic that raises strong passions on both sides of the argument. My personal view is that practical know-how on food preparation, dressing, etc. is important. If these can learn, it will surely enrich one’s career.