In number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway line for very fast trains between cities. Others believe money should be spent on improving existing public. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

For many people around the world, the preferred mode of transportation is a high-speed rail. Commuters travelling to and from work rely on the safety and efficiency, which tourists appreciate the convenience and novelty that train provide. Others believe that highways, busses and regular trains should be improved before new high speed lines are added. Safety is chief among concerns for those who travel to work or school on a regular basis. If one drives a car, they have to concentrate on roads not only to avoid accidents but also to prevent other drivers from causing a problem on the road. High speed-rail allows the communter to leave the driving to the professional controlling the train, allowing them to get some work done while getting to work safely. In addition, people tend to move further and further away from city centers, where land and houses are more affordable. High-speed rail allows these commuters to travel greater distance in a shorter amount of time. There is a flow-on effect here, because if we can reduce the number of cars on the road, we can also cut down on traffic jams and road delays. On the other hand, high speed trains are expensive, and some believe this money could be spend on reparing preparing motorways which are used by cars, buses and motorcycles. Another possiblity would be to use this money to build more regular communter trains and buses to service the ever expanding populations. Moreover, boats and ferries could benefit from a budget which focuses more on existing form of transport. In the end, public transport is a issue which affects us all. The taxes which we pay should be spend on the type of transport which will have the most benefit of all citizens. In addition, we need to take into account how much the environment is damaged by fossil, fuels and pollutions. Therefore, I believe in order to move forward, we need to embrace the idea of high-speed rail so that future generation can continue to live safely and efficiently.