Topic 2: These days many families move to other countries for work. Some people believe that the children in these families benefit from this move. However, others believe that it makes life more difficult for the children. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economic instability in many nations has made some families relocate to other countries in search of greener pastures. A few people are of the opinion that immigrating is beneficial to children while others opine that it makes life difficult for them. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. On the one hand, migrating to developed nations will increase the financial status of families making them able to cater for all the needs of their kids. Financially stable families are able to send their children to the best schools, feed them with an adequate diet and ensure that they are healthy. For Example, in the United Kingdom, the majority of the students in private schools are children of middle-class families because they have the ability to pay the expensive fees of such schools. Moreso, they are more healthy compared to the children from low-class families because they are fed an adequate diet. Good education and health are of significant benefit to children hence relocation is beneficial to children. On the other hand, children as young individuals who are just starting to adapt to their environment might find it difficult to efficiently cope with the stress of adapting to a new environment, learning a different language, culture and way of life which is totally different from where they are coming from. This is a significant challenge most children are faced with as a result of immigration. For instance, a child who is not a native speaker of English, who finds himself in an English-speaking country will find it difficult to communicate with people, make new friends or even cope in his new school. This will pose an immeasurable threat to his self-esteem and his mental health will be traumatized for a long time. In conclusion, migrating to a new country in search of greener pastures is beneficial to children and it is also a challenge for them. In my opinion, parents should prepare their children psychologically before relocating and help them to adapt to the new environment, this will minimise the effect of relocation on a child and maximise the benefits.