employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs personal information, such as their hobbies and inerests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advancement of the economy has opened up new avenues in the job market where there have been radical changes in employment listing and selection. Nowadays, employers are keen on knowing candidates’ private details to select like-minded people for the organization. On the one hand, it is important to collect person-related data to cope with the current competition. On the other hand, some flocks are opposed to current changes. This essay will further elaborate on both aspects with some relevant examples. To begin with, there has been significant demand for white-collar occupations due to their high wage range. Hence, recruiters are getting an excessive number of applications for jobs such as accountants, managers and many other executive positions. In order to find a suitable person who can align with the company objectives, interviewers are looking for detailed information like hobbies, interests, age and marital status. Labour market statistics depicted that employees who are willing to disclose their sensitive data have a high probability of retaining in the office for more than a year than the individuals who are reluctant to cooperate. Moreover, employers are bounded to the labour laws and regulations where they must not discriminate against one another based on their ethnicity. For example, a person who is willing to identify as a visible minority group has a likelihood of getting the position. On the flip side, data privacy is vital in the current era due to the rising number of frauds and identity thefts. It has proved with facts that, revelling personal information can damage humans' mental state based on personal judgements. For instance, knowing a female candidate before an in-person interview has a chance of rejecting the resume. Furthermore, some may believe women's personal commitments can have adverse impacts on achieving company targets. To sum up, people have to be cautious about providing biodata. According to my personal perspective, people have to consider whether their benefits outweigh the drawbacks when giving access to personal information.