Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Nowadays, food factories process food by adding harmful chemicals. Although food additives increase the quality of food, using a lopsided amount of them is hazardous. I completely agree with the previous statement and I will justify my argument in the upcoming paragraphs. Food additives have a variety of categories. For example, preservatives, flavours, colours, and minerals. The FDA had approved using some of them because of the ability of these additives to enhance the quality of food. By using salt and sugar we can protect the food from spoiling. In addition, enrich the taste of different meals by amplifying flavours. For instance, all the fast food industries rely on adding flavours to have these delicious fast recipes. Moreover, some candy factories use colours to produce cheerful popsicles. Also, the novel trends of fortified food depend on adding extra minerals and vitamins to the main food base. Mentioning prior statements highlights the good uses of food additives. However for many valid reasons these chemicals ’ hazards are immensely more than the benefits. To begin with, preserving food using salt and sugar. Consequently, make us more susceptible to chronic diseases such as diabetes, hypertension, and strokes. In addition, researchers proved that the majority of food flavours are cancerogenic and they advise limiting using them. For another reason, it is preferable to take our bodies’ nutrients directly from natural food. Therefore, many doctors suggest reducing consuming fortified food, as it can cause serious diseases like kidney stones and so on. Add to this, the attempting colourful food, namely; cotton candy, juice, and crackles are considered to have negative side effects, especially; on their target which is children. To summarize. Food additives are considered a huge development in the food industry. As processing food using chemicals make it a long-lasting preserve. Conversely, the downside effects of these chemicals are enormous. I believe we should be careful in limiting consuming processed food. Moreover, I would say that food factories and authorities shall impose rules to restrict adding only beneficial chemicals to the food.