Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

With growing health concerns about the high levels of sugar in fast food and soft drinks, some believe that food taxes should be introduced to change people's behaviours toward sugary products. Personally, I am inclined to disagree with this idea and will give reasons below. To begin with, the first argument that springs to my mind is that price increases are not an effective measure against this behaviour. One main reason people do not choose healthy food is not the price but the availability of healthy food. Compared to the ubiquitous fast- food chains, most urban cities only have a limited number of vegetarian restaurants. For busy people and students, they eat unhealthy food more often due to convenience and time pressure. Research in the US and the UK has shown that rising prices of unhealth foods are indeed not specifically linked to the prevalence of obesity. Thus, I would argue that the availability of healthy food is much more crucial than the tax on unhealthy food. Equally worth mentioning is that price increases are unfair to the poor and the average persons. It is undeniable that the poor spend much more on food is much more than the rich. Raising the price of sugary products is likely to increase the burden of the impoverished households and widen social inequalities. The problem can be exacerbated in the midst of soaring global inflation. Instead of raising the price of sugary food products, it is more vital to lower the price of healthy foods such as organic foods and vegetables. In conclusion, I believe that foods with higher levels of sugar should not be made more expensive because it is ineffective and inequitable. Instead, authorities should take steps to increase the availability and lower prices of healthy foods to curb this problem.