Some people believe the government should spend money on building trains and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some individuals are of the believe that the government should invest more money in building of trains and subway systems, in order to reduce the rate of traffic jam, while others are of the opinion that construction of new and wider roads is a more effective way of reducing traffic congestion. This essay thinks that construction of new roads will help combat the rate of traffic jam and will discuss the advantages of building trains and subway, as well as the merits of building more and wider roads. Firstly, when trains and subways are made, they can help in reducing the number of people utilizing the roads, thereby, reducing the rate at which there will be congestions on the road. For instance, It has been observed that developed countries like the USA hardly suffer from such problems, this is because they have many railway systems which are being effectively used by the citizens,leading to few number of people on the road. However in under developed countries like nigeria where there are very few numbers of available railway stations and train, many citizens suffer on a daily basis, spending more hours on the road. On the other hand, In as much as introduction of railway systems will help to reduce the rate of congestion on the road building of new and wider spaced roads will be the best solution for tackling this road congestion problems, as this will help to curtail the rate at which traffic jam occurs in the country as a whole. Due to limited amount of space available on the roads, which accomodates only fewer numbers of vehicles, there tend to be congestions on the road, as more and more motors tries to force their way out, there by leading to a disorganized road and more accidents occurence. For instance, in places like onitsha, anambra state, where they only have small and narrowed roads, it has been noticed that people spends about 4hourd on the road, in a journey that is not supposed to be more than 30-40 minutes. This is because their roads are so small to accommodate more number of people, thereby leading to the road being jam packed.When wider roads are builts, there will be free movements of vehicles and less hours spent on the road, leading to a stress free life for the citizens. In conclusion, while some suggests that railway systems should be built as this will help to reduce the number of people and vehicles on the road, this essay believes strongly that if new and wider roads can be made, this wil be the best solution to the reduction of traffic congestion.