Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favoring more computer based subjects instead. Is it is a positive or negative development? What are reasons for this?

In recent years, it is evidence that a majority of colleges and Universities have been shifted from the traditional science subjects to IT-based subjects. This essay will discuss both advantages and drawbacks and explain why I think the negative impacts outweigh the positives. Undoubtedly, our lives are so dependent on technological devices and the internet which provides a considerable opportunity in career. The rise in popularity of computers and internet-based subjects is unsurprisingly in current society. Most famous or successful businesses are related to computer-based, while the media is full of stories of tech start-ups that have made their founders and investor into millionaires or even billionaires. Moreover, IT-based industries provide more opportunities for careers than the traditional science subject, which significantly attracts the students to participate in computer subjects rather than science. It certainly seems a safer option in a occupation path than a career in science, which require a longer-term commitment and significant contribution to science to gain more salary and social prestige. However, scientists are fundamental and vital in the society that improves our lives. Both academic and technology development as a whole depends on a sustainable stream of talented scientists, even breakdown the technological boundary to keep the devices sustainable. In the beginning, the devices and the internet were proposed by our brilliant scientists, and they invented these technological items which facilitate the improvement of the community. Meanwhile, the scientists focus not only on IT-based development but also on the medicines, engineering technical, and improving the manufacturing process skills. More students choose to study the science subject means more talented participate in doing such invaluable work. In conclusion, the transition of the student studying the science subjects to IT-based subjects is understandable, given the rising importance of technology-based jobs. However, scientists are indispensable and vital in society.