Many parents give their children certain chores or tasks to do at home. Should children have to do chores or tasks at home? Be sure to explain why you think it is a good idea or a bad idea. Include examples to support your reasons.

It is often argued that a lot of parents ask their children to get involved in household work. In my opinion it is a positive and a brilliant idea as it will make children more independent and confident. In the present time, when both the parents are working for providing a better living to their families, it is very essential that children should know the basic household chores. This will indeed make them more responsible. Furthermore, from the future perspective it will definitely help to reduce the hurdles which they might suffer when they leave the home for higher education. Parents are the best mentors of the child. By invoving them in small tasks at home such as cleaning their room or arranging cupboard, they try to make them self-dependent. To illustrate, in a survey conducted in the Manchester University in the United Kingdom, it was found that students who knew the basic household tasks were able to easily adapt to the hostel life in comparison to those who have never done these kind of chores before. Therefore, preparing the offsprings from the initial stages of life helps them for their better future. Nevertheless, parents always think positive and for the betterment of their children. By assigning few tasks at home they want to nurture them in a way that in future they can become more responsible and they can set an example for their siblings. For instance, in most of the rural areas in India, the child is taught to do basic chores from the initial stages of their life so that when they grow up they do not face any kind of difficulty even in the harsh conditions. Hence, by doing so, children learn the ability of self-responsibility. In summary, if the child has a habbit of performing basic household chores on its own from the childhood, it will definitely make their life in future more easier and simples. Therefore, I strongly opine that children should be taught certain tasks at home for their betterment and growth in life.