Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have mixed views about the importance of history instead of science and technology. Although I accept that students can benefit from studying history, I believe that science and technology are more useful in modern societies. On the one hand, it is understandable that so many people think learning history is more important. This is mainly because it can shape youngsters’ minds and improve their critical thinking abilities. Learning to read and comprehend in-depth views from important historical events makes them draw lessons and learn experiences from making the same mistakes. For example, learning the war that happened in the past was so brutal and cruel, that it brings about no benefits but harm to both economy and the well-being of people. Based on this, children will cherish peace and value stability, and enhance their national identity. On the other hand, university courses like medicine, engineering and information technology are more likely to be beneficial than history courses. In fact, society has a greater demand for scientific and technical personnel. Science -related courses provide more job opportunities and career progression for students who take them. To be more specific, science and technology can bring progress to society and improve the quality of life for people. Such as advances in medical science have brought cures for once fatal diseases and information technology has allowed us to contact family members or friends via mobile phones. Therefore, a focus on science and technology in education could bring higher salaries for students and a greater future for society. In conclusion, history and science are both necessary parts of the students ' education process, and I believe that science and technology are much more needed in contemporary societies.