More and more people buy a wide range of household goods like television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

It cannot be argued that technology has brought massive advancement to goods, including household products. An increasing number of people begin to purchase more of these items such as television, microwave oven and rice cooker. This essay will discuss why I believe it is a positive development despite its negative setbacks. In recent years more technological household products have been launched and triggered the urge for people to buy them. New items are usually portrayed as more convenient and easy-to-use in many people's perspectives. For instance, a new version of rice cookers, that would tell its user that steamy rice is cooked, has received a lot of attention which lead to more people buying this item at an unnecessary rate. This encourages the behaviour of overspending and demolishing the traditional way of life which can be negative development in society. On the contrary, I believe more people buying a wide range of household items signifies how well the economy and society are progressing, and how people start to integrate with technology more, which I see as positive impacts. As people are spending, that means there's money being circulated within the economy and more people are being hired. For instance, as more consumers purchase the new version of rice cooker, the company, that produces it, is growing. This means more jobs available to the society and it can increase buying power of the working class. In addition to that, it also shows people are now embracing the advancement of technology which encourages motivation for future development. To conclude, a growing number of people nowadays start to buy a wide range of household products. Despite negative impacts, in my opinion, I do see more positive improvement than negative.