Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a University?

There are two different views about the main responsibility of the university. On one hand, some people believe the university should prepare students for work. On the other hand, others have an opposite view and believe the university must provide intelligence for its welfare regardless of considering the usefulness of a to an employer. Some people believe the true function of a university is providing students with the necessary skills and knowledge in the workplace. Students usually spend most of their time in universities for long years and they hope they gain a good career in the field they have studied after graduation. Some students strongly believe university is going to make them ready in different aspects for the workplace or entrance to industry. In addition to all courses that students pass, there should be some practical and useful for students which are needed and urgent for entering the workplace. Otherwise, it is like wasting time for students because they only have learned some theoretical knowledge that is useless at work, and their chances decrease when they apply for a job. I have graduated in the genetics field about 6 months ago. All this time I was seeking a job in my major and I have applied a lot to different laboratories and companies but I have never been accepted by any of them. Because I should have industrial and project management skills and experience that I have never been trained any of these at the university. In contrast, others believe the university must provide intelligence for its own sake regardless of considering the usefulness of a lesson to employers. They think giving graduates extra knowledge means that they have to spend extra time at university and eventually it may lead to more stress and pressure for students. Maybe they cannot finish these new terms because they have already passed a lot of difficult courses. Thus they will be disappointed and hopeless about getting a job. I think universities should provide students with some useful and necessary skills and pieces of information that are needed at the workplace in addition to other lessons based on students ' favorite jobs in a specific field.