In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. what is the reason? should the trend be changed?

In recent times we see a lot of ladies opt to pursue craft degrees while boys choose to prefer the science field for graduation. This is mainly because society has created a false sense of reality that the art field is supposed to be what females are good at whereas boys are good in the science field. In my opinion, I would strongly believe in bringing change into this system. The main cause of this problem is believed to be that parents believe that their daughter is well versed and it would be easy for her to pursue an art stream rather than in a science field and this led to a huge diversity of graduates from arts stream of being a girl, this makes all the other field of career have less amount of workforce consisting of girls. To Resolve this issue the universities and government should work together and encourage girls to pursue another career opportunity apart from the art stream and provide special benefits which really encourage a lot of young generation girls to opt for other study streams and diversify the workforce --gender in all workplaces. In conclusion, a likely reason why there are a huge amount of girls in the art stream is because of society's belief and not many benefits to pursuing other careers.