Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have a risk. Do you think that advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Since social media have grown, the issue of the security of personal data is ambiguous. In spite of this fact, social media is the most popular leisure time activity. In this essay, the pros and cons of social networks will be discussed. On the one hand, the safety of using the internet is questionable. Nowadays kids, who are allowed to use the Net without control from an early age, can face such problems as talking to strangers, cyberbullying or adult content. That is why psychologists are trying to prevent adults from giving internet access to children. Furthermore, social media has a destructive influence on the young community. Statistics demonstrate, that teenagers tend to compare their life with others, this is the number one problem in psychology sessions. The result of lives comparison is different disorders such as depression, borderline personality disorder and anxiety. On the other hand, social media is a great tool not only for keeping up with family and friends but also an opportunity to expand the network. For instance, LinkedIn is a social media platform to find jobs, like-minded people or do important career courses. Secondly, the internet is the fastest way to find all the needed data. People can hardly imagine themselves opening a dictionary or a cooking book to find necessary information. To conclude, the usage of social media is a must-have for all age groups. However, the whole world faces serious problem about security on social media platforms, despite this fact the benefits of it still outweigh the drawbacks.