These days many children spend a lot of time playing video games and many parents feel this is very negative. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a lot of youths have fallen in love with media, for this reason, they spend more time playing video games on the internet, and this has made many parents see it as a negative trend. I, however, totally agree with the parents and the essay below will discuss this view at length. First and foremost, spending hours on the screen is not healthy as it may cause eye problems in the future. Most people nowadays have eye complications because of spending many hours on the screen. For instance, a study by Leo Lee (2019) in China showed that 67 per cent of children who spent long periods playing on mobile phones had already developed eyesight complications. He encouraged parents to monitor their children at home and to teach them off-screen games such as swimming and soccer. Therefore, I also feel that video gaming is not good for children as it may affect their health. Furthermore, the availability of such games is not good for students as it may interfere with time spent on studying and writing assignments. For instance, in Zimbabwe, some students prefer visiting video games studios after school instead of going to the library. A local newspaper, 'the Chronicle' once interviewed some learners who were found in the studio during the learning hours on their uniforms. The journalists suggested that such places must be closed during the week as they are addictive to some children. Thus, from the above insight, I totally agree that gaming is very negative to the youth as it may destroy their bright future. In conclusion, it is fully agreed that video gaming is not a good trend for children as it affects their health and performance at school. These and other issues have been discussed above.