Some believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school Programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social work is an important activity that benefits the community. It is believed by some that this service should be added to the high school’s curriculum. I partly disagree with this view as adolescents should be allowed a choice on whether they want to help their society or not. Supporters justify this notion by saying that all high schoolers can learn about the different aspects of life previously unknown to them. They would get to work with less privileged children by teaching them sports, and working with charity organizations, and during these interactions, they learn about their struggles resulting in the students feeling gratitude for what they have. Amidst these activities, traits like empathy, humbleness, kind heartedness are built. An example of this is of an obnoxious teenager who became humble after working with a child in foster care. These reasons showcase why community help should be made a necessity in a high school syllabus. Despite these benefits, adolescents should have the freedom of choice. Community service, especially unpaid, should not be forced upon youngsters as this should be done as an act of kindness, not as a chore or assignment. Charity work, for example, requires one to be passionate, patient and compassionate, and a person who is participating unwillingly is most likely not possess these behavioral skills. Without passion or compensation for social work, teenagers should not be pushed into what they are not interested in. To conclude, even though community service is beneficial for both the society and high school student, it should not be inculcated into their programme as the learners should be allowed to make the decision to help their community on their own.