Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Various controversies have emerged as to whether dress code or uniforms were essential to the employees. It has been commonly claimed that productivity should be the scale of measuring one's quality of work. I concur with such an idea for the following reasons. Uniforms used to be considered as one's respectful attitude toward their job or profession. For instance, nurses were requested to wear white uniforms in order to craft an expression of professionalism and placating. However, such a myth has been dissipating in the past few years while new perceptions have been rising up. New graduates no longer acknowledge this outdated stereotype and turn out to focus more on their working performances. Many IT companies, as a member of the pioneering industry, triggered the first shot of demolishing dressing regulation in Taiwan and no reduction in business were generated due to this policy. Therefore, the IT companies have once again examined that outfits bear little relevance to the quality of work. From my perspective, uniforms were not the core of the debate. In some scenarios, uniforms can serve as protection for workers. For example, a firefighter suit can insult the heat by causing burning to the fireman's skin. The root cause that desperately needs to be addressed is the way employers value their employees. It is undoubtedly that outstanding performances were highly anticipated by the majority of managers. However, if one was still tracking the status by external expressions, then ignorance of more important internal features, such as one's liability or working ability, could pose a greater threat to themselves. By way of conclusion, I believe the problem is discussable and treatable. It is vital of having an agreement about the rules of the company for both employers and employees.