Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualification for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's business world, employees put extra effort into developing their interpersonal skills. Some individuals argue that, in order to strive for a career, soft skills are vital in addition to standard education. In my opinion, I firmly agree emphasising social skills is paramount to accomplishing career goals. In this essay, I will elaborate on reasons to validate my stance followed by a conclusion. To begin with, social skills are essential in building both personal and professional relationships. Interpersonal skills cannot be learned from books therefore they need to be improved in a practical environment in our daily lives. Demonstrating strong interpersonal skills can help you accomplish career goals, contribute to company achievements, perform well during the hiring process and expand your professional network. Therefore, well-developed social skills benefits to break the communication gap between people while building a network in order to expand career opportunities in the long run. In a nutshell, focusing on developing soft skills, may result in employee performance and productivity. On the other hand, interpersonal skills can be considered a tool to measure employee performance to recognise and reward their hard work. For example, an individual gaining teamwork and leadership skills from experience can promote that individual to the next step of his or her career pathway. In addition, getting rewards and recognition helps to motivate employees and perform better in their duties. As a result of polishing soft skills can value a well experienced professional compared to a beginner. To sum up, there are other aspects considered more important such as adaptability, experience, and special skills. In my perspective, while those mentioned attributes are important, social capability should be mentioned and considered in the recruitment process.